Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Cleaned Up Rugged" Chinos or Work-Appropriate Pants?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

"Cleaned Up Rugged" Chinos or Work-Appropriate Pants?

I've been trying to figure out some pants for work for a long time and am getting increasingly frustrated. Here's what I'm looking for:

- I'm a Colorado guy, and the mountains and the desert is my home. I kind of like to reflect that in my style of dress, which usually has a bit of a rugged vibe but is cleaned up a bit. I'm an environmental scientist, and I also need to be able to wear these inside and out, both at a desk and out in the field.

- I'm reasonably athletic and fit - 6'0, 176lb, hiker legs.

- I currently work on an Air Force base where the style of dress is either uniforms or Middle American Middle Aged Man Bare Minimum. I'd like to represent myself better than that, but this is a casual, casual workplace. 5-pocket style pants would not be out of place here in the slightest. If it's not denim and looks decent, it flies.

- I absolutely hate tapered legs on pants, so I want a straight leg that's not skinny. I don't want a relaxed fit at all, but it does need to fit an athletic leg.

- I wear Clarks desert boots a lot. A leg opening of reasonable size is probably best. I also like a fairly deep break.

- I'm looking to spend no more than $90 per pair, and $75 would be preferable.

I'm at my wits' end. Anybody got some sterling suggestions? Bonobos fit reasonably well, but there's no middle ground between a silly-looking boot cut and a fairly slim straight leg that looks odd over desert boots.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)