Thread: Suits and shirts for my body

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I'm a college student (i.e. on a pretty tight budget) looking to upgrade my business wardrobe over the next few months (before starting a new job in January) and I'm looking to invest in one or two starter suits, as well as a decent rotation of dress shirts and several button-down sport shirts. I've always had trouble finding dress clothes that fit me well, as I have wide shoulders and a thick neck, meaning that most clothes I buy are either too tight there or baggy around the torso and sleeves. Would you all suggest buying made-to-measure/custom (Indochino, etc.) or getting a department store brand and having it tailored? I'm looking for suits in the $200-$400 range and shirts no more than $100, and hoping to get clothing of a decent quality that will last a while. Suggestions on specific brands/models would be appreciated. Thanks!

Super Moderator
    Mentioned
    69 Post(s)
    Quoted
    168 Post(s)

warpedkarma, I recommend going to a tailor to get measured. Have him measure your chest, waist, hips, shoulders, arms, neck. Once you have those measurements it will be easy to see if any shirts will fit you off the rack.

Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Quoted
    85 Post(s)

what b to the ruschetta said

"You don't need money to dress better than you do" - Salvatore Romano

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Also look at JCREW factory Thompson suit. I bought The dark charcoal one for 135. But they can be had at $200 normally. With a little tailoring that look great.

What we do in life echos throughout eternity.
    -Maximus

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

The J Crew Factory Thompson looks great, and I'll definitely have my tailor take all my measurements. Any other specific suggestions on suit/shirt brands?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)