Thread: "Back to the Futurists" Ball (Semi-Formal, Semi-Futurist)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I'm going to a beaux arts ball with a futurist theme. I am an architecture student, and this will be a school of architecture event at my school. So, there will be professors there, and I want to look presentable. The dress is Semi-Formal, Semi-Futurist (get creative). Any thoughts? I have a shinier material grey (medium to light in color) blazer that I'd like to work in, but I dont know about other components.. Sleek, black dress shoes? Charcoal glen plaid pants? white shirt? bow tie? black windsor?

Any thoughts, comments, or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

THE INVITE:

This year we will be having our "Back to the Futurists" themed beaux-arts at the Illium cafe on Broadway in downtown Troy from 9 p.m. to 1 a.m. Your ticket gets you three drink vouchers for a selection of beer and wine, appetizers, and music. Be sure to bring your ID if you are over 21. Dress is semi-formal, semi-futurist. Feel free to get creative!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I can't be the only one that thinks you should just wear a suit, but TRON it up

Varsity Member nicholascrawford's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    18 Post(s)

I would try anything by a user named Joolander!

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    24 Post(s)

Something military inspired would be cool, think Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, etc... whether is be a military style blazer and maybe some boots or finding something reproduction like this (quick google search, no idea as to the quality) http://www.hellocosplay.com/star-wars-imperial-officer-grey-uniform-p-1976.html

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Orange feels like a futuristic color, maybe good for a pocket square or something? Also, anything that glows would be cool, if you could pick up a neon watch or tie for instance?

Get this! http://www.amazon.com/Glow-Tie-Adult...N%3DB004UUK6AU