Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Cocktail attire is requested"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hi. New poster here; indeed I'm new to trying to dress better at all. I've been reading this site/board for about a month now, and you all seem like a friendly bunch, so...

A good friend of mine just got engaged to her girlfriend, and I've been invited to the engagement party. The invitation states that cocktail attire, but I'm pretty sure that I don't own anything that fits that description. I've never even been to an engagement party, and all the weddings I've been to have been in Scotland, where a kilt is traditional. So I'd like to buy some new clothes for this event, which is in May, in Portland Oregon (where I live now). I'd be willing to pay a good few hundred dollars, if I were buying items I could be pretty confident I'd wear again.

Any suggestions, either in general, or specifically?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

A basic solid, well fitting suit would be my suggestion. Not sure of the best suggestion for you for the price, but for me, I'd look at eBay.

Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Quoted
    211 Post(s)

+1 on the suit. You'll get more future use out of a charcoal grey, but if there was ever a time to wear black, this would probably be it. But if you don't already own a single suit, go with grey (or navy if you're the colorful sort).

Or you could just wear a kilt. That would be awesome. :-D

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Suit for sure. If it's your first, go medium to dark grey. If you buy off the rack, you'll need it tailored so keep that in mind. Macys might not be a bad place to start shopping. Just make sure it's 100% wool and the shoulders fit. As far as shirt pairing goes, I'd say invest in a nice white shirt. You'll wear it a million different places after the cocktail party. Cocktail parties are pretty formal and in the evening, so I'd stick to darker colored ties. P

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)