Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Fitness thread

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    24 Post(s)

Anybody here a fitness nut? I thought it might be fun to have a thread to talk about fitness topics, since we all know all clothing looks better on you if you're in shape!

As for me, I try and do some lifting/cardio a few times a week, and bike in the warmer months. I did something to make my shoulder really sore recently (probably a combination of stepping up my workouts and sleeping on it funny), so as I'm starting to work out again I'm trying a low-weight, slow-movement, higher-rep workout to see how that goes.

Any good fitness tips, thoughts, stories, or just want to tell everyone about your workout routine, post it here!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

I've been doing Stronglifts 5x5 with a coworker since January, so we go 3x a week at lunch. I've been doing karate for almost 4 years and started doing jiujitsu after class one night a week a few months ago, so I'm often sore and bruised.

I'm just getting back into running. I trained up and ran a half marathon last spring, then got lazy over the summer and hurt my leg in karate last fall. Every time I ran it would hurt and make me change my gait so my knee would ache. Just adding running back in as a warmup before lifting.

So yeah, I'm trying to get back into shape after putting on some holiday pounds.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Me and the wife have been doing P90X for the last couple of months. So, far I'm down from a 48/50 long to 46 and I have one 44L (it has generous proportions) as well. The routine is pretty good, good mix of cardio and resistance training. After we had our son and I started my masters I gained about 80lbs. Slowly working that off.