Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm new to shoes are leather soles slippery? What to do?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    8 Post(s)

I'm new to shoes are leather soles slippery? What to do?

I have always bought department my dress shoes at department stores and spent under $150. Now I am looking to buy my first nice pair of dress shoes. I am doing research and found out that real leather soles are slippery. And that you can bring them to a cobbler to put some type of a non slip coating on them.

Are they slippery, and if so what can be done? I am asking because I commute and walk a lot, on all types of surfaces. In the past I have had shoes that I hated to wear because on certain surfaces I would slip and almost fall on my ass. I am just looking for some information. Thank you.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Quoted
    449 Post(s)
    The first few times you wear them just scuff up the soles a bit on concrete the sidewalk etc. it doesn’t take long for them to start getting traction. I just avoided wearing them in the rain etc.

If you walk a lot you may need to replace those soles quickly anyway. I always avoided leather soles for that reason. I’d burn through them in no time with my limited commute.

Mentioned
    423 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2029 Post(s)
    Once you scuff them up, leather soles have decent grip in normal conditions. However they can be quite slick in wet or icy conditions, which is why I tend to avoid them for my shoes (it is winter about 9 months out of the year where I live).
    Ben

Mentioned
    60 Post(s)
    Quoted
    489 Post(s)