Thread: Best bourbons under $40

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Best bourbons under $40

In response to today's article, I want to suggest Benchmark as a low-cost, high value bourbon (similar to Evan Williams Black label). It's made by Buffalo Trace, and it is their "entry-level" bourbon.

Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Quoted
    545 Post(s)
    I've recently discovered Buffalo Trace and love it. One that was missed that's excellent for about $30 a bottle is Woodford Reserve.

After being devoted to scotches for years, my tastes seem to be trending to bourbon the last year or two. Maybe it's because they are a better value?
    WHY ARE THE GUYS IN SUITS HERE? HAS SOMETHING GONE WRONG?

Mentioned
    213 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1444 Post(s)
    As a total noob when it comes to bourbon, I thought the article today was a great resource. The article might even be enough to get me out of drinking beer only.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Quoted
    165 Post(s)
    Weller Antique 107 is fantastic if you can find it. Eagle Rare is good and widely available but closer to $40 bottle. Old Grand Dad Bottled-in-Bond is cheap, widely available and makes a good base for an Old Fashioned.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Can confirm the quality of Eagle Rare. Excellent for the price point. Old Forester is also worthwhile.
    Last edited by CJM81; April 26th, 2019 at 04:33 PM.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Eagle Rare is yet another Buffalo Trace bourbon.

Quote Originally Posted by CJM81 View Post
    Can confirm the quality of Eagle Rare. Excellent for the price point. Old Forester is also worthwhile.

Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    45 Post(s)