Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    94 Post(s)

Vest Recommendations

I am new to the world of vests and looking for advice.

I want to wear them as with a dress shirt and dark wash denim and also under a blue cotton blazer or a brown tweed sports jacket.

I really like this one https://factory.jcrew.com/p/F5142

and Amazon has ones from Gioberti at $20 that get good reviews although they are polyester rayon.

Any recommendation on specific types, colors and places to purchase?

Thanks in advance.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Quoted
    163 Post(s)
    One recommendation: don't get one which fits like the linked vest. The vest is supposed to be long enough to cover your shirt and belt all the way around, to create a smooth silhouette, not leave a ring of shirt fabric sticking out. There's a reason why the alternate name for a vest is waistcoat.

Also, if you're wearing the vest by itself it should be self-backed, that is the same outer fabric front and back. Otherwise it looks like an orphan from a three-piece suit.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    94 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Galcobar View Post
    One recommendation: don't get one which fits like the linked vest. The vest is supposed to be long enough to cover your shirt and belt all the way around, to create a smooth silhouette, not leave a ring of shirt fabric sticking out. There's a reason why the alternate name for a vest is waistcoat.

Also, if you're wearing the vest by itself it should be self-backed, that is the same outer fabric front and back. Otherwise it looks like an orphan from a three-piece suit.
    Thanks for the recommendation. I agree the vest as photographed is too short on the model.

Regarding a self-backed vest. Most of the photos of vests worn casually without a jacket that I have seen usually have the standard satin backing.