Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Single Monk vs Single Monk styles

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Quoted
    134 Post(s)

Single Monk vs Single Monk styles

I wanted to get people's opinions on the types of single monk straps.

On the one hand, you've got the style with the large broad strap across the shoe, like the AE Warwick.

On the other hand, you've got the style where it's very much like a double monk strap but instead has the bottom of the strap stitched in place, like the Edward Green Audley.

What do you all think? Any specific preference for one type over the other?
    Last edited by Domino; March 8th, 2017 at 08:57 PM.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    86 Post(s)
    Quoted
    365 Post(s)
    Seems like the only two defined single monk styles are either cutaway like the EG Audley or traditional like the AE Warwick. I have no experience with cutaway single monks, I think in isolation they look nice, but I wonder if they necessitate pants with no break in order to keep the buckle visible.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Quoted
    165 Post(s)
    I have a pair of BR Wyatts https://dappered.com/2015/08/in-revi...r-single-monk/ and like them enough for a pair of cheapish dress shoes (I think I paid $62 for them). I don't have a preference in general between the two styles though, I have considered picking up a pair of AE Warwicks, but every time I have had the cash and the need for a new pair of shoes another style has won out over them. Overall I think both styles can be done really well, and both styles can be done pretty horribly, depending who's making the shoes the and style/quality nuances they choose. Definitely not the first shoe i would get (or second or third) if I was just starting to build up my shoe collection, but down they road they can be a great addition.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    planning on Oxblood Warwick's as my next purchase, big fan of them

Varsity Member
    Mentioned