Thread: best sub $150 everyday business casual shoes

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    104 Post(s)
    Quoted
    189 Post(s)

best sub $150 everyday business casual shoes

Hello all,

If you've read some of my past threads you'll know that I'm laser-focused on expanding my wardrobe, piece by piece. I just got a watch, now I'm turning my attention to shoes.

I work in the tech sector, so the dress code is pretty casual. Dark wash jeans are common in my office, as are chinos. Here's the type of outfit I wear on a daily basis:

Right now I'm rocking the look with clarks, but I want to step it up a bit. Here's my wishlist:
    - brown leather (I'm ok with anything from tan to a burgandy)
    - the cheaper the better. Ideally I'd pay less than $100, but I'm willing to pay up to $150 for notably better quality.
    - soft leather - I have had too many shoes that remain stiff, rigid, and uncomfortable. I want something that will soften up after a few weeks.
    - relatively durable. I'm just wearing these around the office, but I'm not super gentle on my shoes. I want these to last for at least a few years.
    - stylish.

To address the last point:
    - I want something simple and timeless that can be dressed up or down.
    - I'm not a fan of wingtips (too much broguing).
    - I'm open to either dress boots or oxfords.

I love the look of the AE fifth avenues. (AE's are not in the running due to price point)
    I've long considered picking up a pair of Stafford Gunners (in cognac)
    I tried on BR's Jeremy oxfords today (Joe described the leather as "terrific" on the main site).

Thoughts on the three shoes that I've mentioned?
    Suggestions for shoes I haven't considered?

Shoe connoisseurs, I'm calling on you: make me look sexy. Thanks in advance for replies.
    Last edited by Danny; March 10th, 2016 at 11:02 PM.

Mentioned
    38 Post(s)
    Quoted
    137 Post(s)