Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $1,400.00 to Spend at Bloomingdale's

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

$1,400.00 to Spend at Bloomingdale's

I recently got a new job, and as a gift to myself, I bought a watch I had wanted for years. After searching for the best deal I could get on the watch, I found that deal to be at Bloomingdale's. Specifically, they gave me a gift card for $1,400.00 to use on ANYTHING at the store. I'm getting my mom a Michael Kors watch that she had wanted, and my brother said he doesn't want anything. So the rest is for me. Before I ask my question, here's what I think you'd need to know:

1. I'm an attorney in NYC, so I have a large need for work clothes.
    2. I've been an attorney for about 6 years, so I have a lot of work clothes (suits, dress shirts, ties, dress shoes, etc.) already.
    3. I already have a lot of the other basics that I think a guy should own (tuxedo, navy blazer, some business casual dress pants, wool overcoat, trench coat, etc.).

So my general question is ... what do you think I should get? More wardrobe staples/things like that? Or something a little more out there/risky? Or a different type of necessity, like luggage? And I don't shop at Bloomingdale's much (I can rarely afford it), so if you have a suggestion for a specific item/brand, that would be great too.

Thanks for your help.

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    119 Post(s)
    Quoted
    513 Post(s)
    How about a briefcase or shoulder bag?

Dappered Veteran
    Mentioned
    145 Post(s)
    Quoted
    513 Post(s)
    1. Leather jacket
    2. General thoughts: You can get a lot of small things, like $250-300 shirts that are quite nice, or you can get a few (or one) superlative item. I'd opt for the latter since you otherwise would never drop that amount of money in one blow on yourself. You'd appreciate it more, I think, than many smaller buys. That being said, some of the things I am about to recommend may be in the smaller-dollar range: