Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about getting a navy suit

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    103 Post(s)

Thinking about getting a navy suit

This is my first post and I apologize in advance for the length.

So, I'm thinking about getting a navy suit - I have 2 suits, but oddly I don't have the most basic suit a guy should own. I'm considering several options, and want to make sure that I've covered the relative pros/cons of each. I'm not looking to be told the "one and only" right answer - just want to get folks' thoughts and opinions.

Background:
    • suit will be worn 1-2x per month, and will often be worn without a tie. I'm an in-house lawyer, but my workplace is pretty casual, with most people wearing khakis and button downs or polos. I tend to dress a bit more formally than others, but wearing a suit and tie can be distraction. As a result, I will probably wear the suit (without tie) occasionally to work and with or without tie on other occasions - church (also casual) and nicer dinners with the wife.
    • I am 40 (sigh)
    • given that this suit isn't really a requirement for work and won't be worn very often, I'd prefer not to invest too much in it. My money needs to go to other uses.
    • I'm 5'10 and 165 lbs; 32in waist. I think a size 38r or 40r depending on brand.
    • I live in Columbus

The options I'm considering.

1. Thrifting. This is probably my preferred route.
    Pros
    - price

Cons
    - low quantity of good suits in my size at thrift store
    - will likely take a while to find something that looks good and fits.

2. Brooks Brothers.
    Pros
    - "nobody ever got fired for buying IBM"
    - good quality; good tailors

Cons
    - more than I'd ideally like to spend

3. Suit Supply
    Pros
    - seems like a good value; I see a lot of positive feedback and reviews

Cons
    - no SS in C'bus, so I'd be buying without trying on. That's a bit concerning