Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What is your best coffee-making technique?

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Quoted
    150 Post(s)

What is your best coffee-making technique?

Making coffee at home is much more economical than $2 for starbucks. Its also customizable to your own taste and it is interesting to learn. Starbucks somehow always tastes burnt to me.

I am still a novice, but I thought I would post my technique and see if anyone else has suggestions.

For inspiration, a relaxing youtube video of a Japanese guy making coffee.

Here is my setup:

the french press is bodum from Target (holds 2 cups)
    the coffee grinder is from amazon

Instructions:

1. Heat water (I microwave it).
    2. Grind 1 tablespoon of fresh coffee beans. (pulse in the coffee grinder 12 times)
    3. Transfer coffee grounds to the french press.
    4. Add water to the french press. Brew for 11 minutes. add some of the water to your coffee cup to warm it. (do some clean up while it is brewing)
    5. Toss out the water from the coffee cup. Add splash of milk or half-and-half.
    6. Press the coffee and pour into your cup.
    7. Enjoy in your home study while reading or surfing the internets.

Mentioned
    229 Post(s)
    Quoted
    574 Post(s)
    Its free at my office. Not amazing but can't beat the price. Don't drink coffee on the weekends.

Mentioned
    411 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1937 Post(s)
    I use a manual burr grinder and Aeropress at home. At work we have a Kuerig.
    Ben

Varsity Member
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    15 Post(s)
    I use a burr grinder. I use the fine-to-medium grind for stovetop espresso (Bialetti Moka express); coarse grind for my Bodum French press. I also take the coarse grind to work, microwave some water, then pour it through a natural filter and coffee cone (http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=a9_sc_1?...qid=1393948624). This gives me control over quantity and caffeine level.

Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Quoted