$500 to turn me into Ryan Gosling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

$500 to turn me into Ryan Gosling

My company offered me a $500 stipend to put towards a new wardrobe (I guess they are trying to tell me something?) I work in the IT Consulting business and am in front of clients non-stop. I want to give the gurus of Dappered.com the challenge of helping me steal the style of Ryan Gosling...because who doesn't want to look like him from Crazy Stupid Love?

Rules: Dont go over $500

Did they tell you what they expect you to buy? What's the dress code? My brother is a consultant, and he says his attire depends entirely on the clients' offices. Regardless, I suppose we're at least looking at suit, blazers, ties, etc.

Do you have ANYTHING in the way of clothing to start you off with that could be added to? If you have shoes, please post a picture.
    Last edited by alan; March 18, 2014, 12:36 PM.

Comment

Business casual?

Comment

Also, I realize that the company is giving you $500, but why does that have to be your max? It might sound like a lot of money, but it's really not once you start getting into suits and dress shoes. Even cheap suits are $200, and they're not awesome.

I would recommend matching at LEAST 50% of what the company has offered you. Go to $750. Everything you buy will still be 2/3 off. I'm assuming you're starting from somewhere near the ground floor so there is a lot of area to cover.

Comment

Also, how old are you? What's your size (or at least height and weight)?

And is Ryan Gossling even the most appropriate look for an IT consultant? (food for thought)

Comment

IT gigolo?

Comment

Originally posted by frost View Post
              IT gigolo?
              Ehhhh... I wouldn't go that far, but I've seen the movie, and Ryan Gossling definitely gives off that "off-duty" vibe.

Comment

Originally posted by alan View Post