J Crew Ludlow Suit - Final Sale

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

J Crew Ludlow Suit - Final Sale

I just received an e-mail for 30% off final sale items. I've actually been looking for a summer suit, thinking I could get a good deal out of season. The Ludlow in wheat is on sale for around $150, but it cannot be returned. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with the Ludlow suits.

I just realized that the pants are only available in 42. Would this still be a good deal? Can a tailor take several inches off the waist line, or would it be too much tailoring?

I've got no experience with it, personally, but I figured I would chime in.

I think I found the one you're looking at it, and it's pretty neat. You do realize it's twill, though, right? I'm sure it's obvious, but I figured I would point it out, anwyays.

I'd get it in a heartbeat if I were in the market to buy a new suit. Just pointing out the obvious to anyone who might be expecting wool.

Comment

Just noticed the second half of yuor post. What's your waist size? I'm sure a tailor can work within a certain range, but at some point you're pushing your luck.

Comment

Wow, thanks for the quick response. I actually didn't notice it was twill, I think I was too excited about the price. What difference would it make that it is twill? I read on the website that it makes it harder to achieve consistency in coloring, but are there other concerns with a twill summer suit? I tend to wear a 36" waist, I was more concerned with the legs also being too wide.

Comment

Well twill is cotton. It's a fine material, but I would say it's more casual than a wool suit. It makes a good sumemr suit if it's not too thick. Ignore the part about color matching. They're just talking about how wonderful it is since they insist on only the best. It's marketing speak. :-)