Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tailoring clothes from the thrift store?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tailoring clothes from the thrift store?

Recently i went to local thrift stores looking for dressclothes i could wear to work i picked up several collared shirts 2 of which were express fitted shirts that were luckily my size the last shirt i found was an alfani in a very unique blue collar that i couldnt seem to take my eyes off, when i tried the shirt on i realized that it the fit of the alfani shirt was far too wide for my taste on the sides. I only paid 1 dollar for the shirt which appears extremely new and has no stains or other issues on it would it be worth the 15-20 dollars to have the shirt tailored to fit me better? Keep in mind i am a college student in a minimum wage job so 15 dollars is around 2 hours of pay for me

IMO it's worth it, without a doubt.

Would you rather pay $40 for a new EXPRESS shirt and another $15 to tailor it?

Or $1 for a gently used EXPRESS shirt in great condition, and another $15 to tailor it?

I know what my choice would be...

Comment

Would the alfani shirt be worth tailoring?

Comment

Depends on how much you like it and how much time you're willing to spend looking for another shirt in a thrift store that wouldn't need tailoring

Comment

Michael, I'm going to go out on a limb and say that none of those shirts are worth tailoring. If you keep the alfani shirt, wear it under a slimm sweater. No one will know that it's not a slim-fitting shirt, and you'll have saved yourself ~$15.

The reason I say this is because Express shirts and Alfani shirts are not good quality. They're not likely to last more than a year with gentle care.

Comment

Yeah, that too... I picked up 6 Brooks Brothers, 3 Hickey Freeman, and 2 Ike Behar shirts just yesterday at the thrifts. Look for better makers if you're gonna buy used.

Comment