Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some Rules I Break And Why

Hi,
    I've been lurking for awhile and thought I would try and add to the great discussion on this forum.

I intentionally do a few things that most of us think of as sartorially incorrect. I'll throw them out there because I'm curious to see what others think. I have thick skin so feel free to say I look like a clown. Sometimes I probably do.

1. I wearing a matching tie and pocket square. Now before you get your hand rolled linen in a bunch, hear me out. I only do it in one particular way. Navy Suit-white shirt- solid color tie- black shoes. I'm a lawyer and that's a pretty standard look but it's unfortunately been co-opted by every politician in the country. So to avoid looking like I'm running for office, I sometimes will wear a matching silk pocket square, poof style, just barely poking out of the pocket. It tones down the uptightness.

2. I wear a suit jacket as an odd jacket. I think that's a little more accepted with the Dappered crowd but its still technically a no-no. And again, its one particular circumstance. I have a flannel glen plaid suit and the jacket looks great without the pants (with other pants though, with no pants it clashes with the pattern of my leg hair).

3. I wear a black leather jacket with brown belt/watch/shoes. I'm not sure if this actually breaks the rule but it probably does. The jacket is fairly simple, not an elaborate biker jacket or anything. And most of my black shoes and watch bands are formal work wear. So I go with brown. I will say that I generally avoid very dark brown shoes (specifically JCP "cutters" leather chukkas) because I don't want it to look like I thought they matched and was wrong.

So that's my list.
    Thoughts?
    Any rules you like to break?

Comment

Welcome to the forums, Jackie. Apologies for the GIF, but your post reads like a celebrity tell-all feature.

Comment