Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sport Coat Refresher

Hey Guys,

I'm a recent college grad and have been gradually trying to improve my style the last year or so. I've been reading this site and a few others and I think it's finally time for me to invest (still trying to stay on a budget) in a sport coat to wear on a casual night out.

Any suggestions? I seem to remember the Old Navy sportcoat being hailed as a bargain. Is that still the case? Also, what should I look for as far as fit goes? Similar to how a suit jacket should fit?

Thanks for any help!

Honestly, I've had the best luck in thrift stores. You can get a sportcoat much better than one you can afford off the rack for a fraction of the price. Look for good brands like Brooks Brothers, Hickey Freeman, or even the common brands you'd shop now like Old Navy, Gap, Lands End, etc. Look for good store names on the tags like Nordstrom, Saks, Barneys, etc. and you'll know it's of at least acceptable quality. Look for colors you like and try everything on. Make sure to look over the whole garment for damages, especially around the seams, and look for any moth damage (tiny holes in the wool shell). Avoid anything that looks too dated (low gorge, super wide or narrow lapels). Make sure you know how a coat should fit before you go.

Comment