Difficulty finding clothes that transition from outdoors to office

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Difficulty finding clothes that transition from outdoors to office

Probably the biggest challenge I've had since trying to improve my personal style starting last June is figuring out what to wear on those days when I'm working outside in the morning (I'm a biologist so spend a lot of mornings in the field looking for bird nests, conducting habitat assessments, etc.) but have to come into the office for the afternoon. For days when I'm in the field all day I have no problem wearing my dorky synthetic hiking clothes (baggy pants & synthetic tees, mostly) but on the half field/half office days I'm trying to wear clothes that are functional but at least somewhat stylish. I tried wearing simple long sleeve tees and henleys as a base layers only to realize they don't flatter my body type very well (highlight my stomach too much) so I'm thinking I need to accumulate a collection of lightweight casual button-up shirts that work both outdoors as well as in town. I'm hoping that the Uniqlo broadcloth shirt that's supposed to arrive tomorrow fits this bill. For pants I'm going to try eschewing the REI-style cargo pants (comfortable and functional but way too baggy for around town) and get some basic straight-fit jeans. Someday I'd like to get a good pair of rugged chinos for fieldwork (Orvis or Bill's Khakis) but I can't really justify $80+ pants right now.

In any case, just wondering if there are any other guys on here like me who work outdoors as much as they work in the office and what clothes they've found that successfully bridge the gap between field and office.
    Last edited by MattRicketts; April 3, 2013, 05:15 PM.

Jeans, ocbd, field jacket, rubber soled leather Chelsea or chukka boots.

A sport coat with flap pockets can work in place of the field jacket.

Comment