Business casual upgrade seems to work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business casual upgrade seems to work

So I upgraded my game recently with a couple of pairs of Allen Edmonds shoes and the addition of jackets to my usual business casual wardrobe. Today was the first day I had my oxblood/black saddle shoes on with a houndstooth blazer and I never have got so many positive comments.

Some interesting observations
    the ladies totally notice the shoes. My boss and her boss are female so this is something I will pay attention too
    I have been wearing jackets for a couple of months but one person only noticed today when the whole look went together
    nicer details and a top quality shirt seemed to get the notice of even the senior managers. The saddle shoes get noticed way more than the newer black cap toes
    one quip was about "you aren't quite at X's level". X is the super big boss around here (who wears excellent tailored clothing). Any comparison to him is a good sign.

I think this is going to get expensive!

Thanks to everyone here for your advice it seems to finally be paying off.

Tod

Shoes are just one of those things that women seem to notice a lot - perhaps more than anything else in your normal wardrobe - for reasons that evade pretty much all men. I have no idea why. But it's true - as you've experienced.

Comment

I get a lot of comments on my socks. I have some Happy Socks and they always garner attention and comments. Also ties seem to get a lot of attention but most stay away from the main articles of clothing in terms of compliments. Maybe it is the conservative nature of my company but even at 80% women not a ton of comments on everyday wear.

Comment

Congrats on your improvement. I'm glad you're feeling happier and more confident with your evolving style.