Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interview Suiting

Hello,

I am an undergrad that is finishing up school in May and am looking to begin my career. I do not have much experience with suits as I have been wearing a terrible fitting hand me down suit from my grandfather. Now, as I am starting to take on interviews I am looking for a modern, well fitted suit to purchase. I was hoping I could receive some advice to brands and fits that others have good experience with. (I have been interested in the J. Crew Thompson.) My range is around $200-$300 for a jacket and pants. Thanks and I truly appreciate any help, it is going to go a long way for me.

Also, I'm not sure as to what color (blue or grey? or others?) and what type of fabric ( wool? cotton? others?) a suit for an interview should be. Just some things I am not very familiar with. Thanks again!

Others can weigh in on other brands, but I think your best bang for the buck will be a charcoal Thompson suit. It's relatively inexpensive, looks great without straying from classic styling and it's a fairly lightweight wool that you will (probably) be able to get three seasons' worth of wear out of. My sense is that charcoal is a little more conservative than navy (though not by a lot), and that is probably the side you want to err on.

Comment

Keep in mind there will be tailoring costs. I paid $70 to have the sleeves shortened and the waist brought in on my charcoal Thompson suit. I think it is recommended now to go with a medium grey or navy suit. Also the charcoal is a 80/20 blend where as the navy and medium grey Thompsons are 100% wool.
      5'8" 155 lbs 39" chest 33" sleeves 33" waist

Comment