Refurbishing old/used shoes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Refurbishing old/used shoes

Let's see the shoes that you found secondhand, and let's share those tricks that you employed to bring them back to life.*

I have been wanting to get into thrifting for shoes. I have no experience in refurbishing old shoes, and thought it would be great to see the shoes that others find while sharing personal tricks for revitalizing them. I know that there are companies that will do all this for you, but I'd like to see your at home remedies.*

+1, but to be honest it seems like a lot of you somehow discover glorious finds of Edward Green and Crockett & Jones, while all I see around are Steve Madden and Cole Haan.

Comment

I've found Allen Edmond in some thrift stores but they are always worn in so much that they don't feel right on my feet. The problem with buying used shoes is that shoes often form to the user's feet. Often if you try on somebody else's shoes, they feel like somebody else's shoes.

Comment

I usually just use a mix of polishes, creams, alcohols (BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THIS), lotions and cleaners. I wish I had taken my before and after pictures in the sae spot at the same time. The different lighting in some of my pics makes the changes look much more dramatic than what they really are:

Aketosh Italy walnut captoes (picture taken while waiting in line at the thrift)

Wiped down, cleaned with conditioner, and darkened with several shades of walnut polish. Comes out looking pretty close to looking like a walnut park avenue (next to my AE walnut strands for comparison)

Made in USA Bostonian captoes. First picture is taken with direct sunlight while the second picture is behind shade so change is much more dramatic than it really is.

Some lotions, cleaner, alcohol and darker shade of polish:

Last edited by Acousticfoodie; February 19, 2013, 09:29 PM.

Comment