Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much polyester is too much polyester?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much polyester is too much polyester?

So I've been wanting a camel colored coat for a while now. I saw this one at H&M the other day and rather liked it.( http://www.hm.com/us/product/93306?a...rticle=93306-C ) I don't own anything from this store and really have no idea how long this thing would last or how it would feel in the long run. It's only 30% wool. I've seen things as low as 60% but 30% seems on the extreme side. Anybody own something similar?

The price seems decent as want something I can wear to class and other more casual settings without worrying too much about getting it messed up.

Normally I'm a fanatic when it comes to natural materials so I have very little experience with this much polyester. (my personal pet peeve is fake leather)

I'm really hoping someone will say "it's great you won't be able to tell" but I have a feeling that won't be the case.

Personally, I'm ok with buying a "wool" product that has up to 50% synthetic fibers. I have absolutely no hard evidence to prove this, but my experience is that once you start working on less than half wool, you really start to lose the beneficial qualities of the organic fiber.

We all know that wool is more breathable and has a better "hand" than polyester. Wool also retains warmth (even when damp), wicks moisture, is naturally flame retardant, has antimicrobial properties, and is more naturally resilient to physical stresses than other commonly-used organic and synthetic fibers.