Need my first watch.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need my first watch.

Been on the "I need to get a watch" mode for awhile, but am really serious about it right now.

I work in IT and wear business casual (I keep it more on the business side most of the time) to work and when I'm not at work, I'll either keep most of what I'm wearing on and swap slacks for jeans or I'll wear jeans and a t-shirt.

I was really eying the Seiko 781 Orange Monster, but I've decided that that one probably has to wait because it doesn't seem like something I'd be able to pull off at work. So I need something more "everyday" than that. I like busy and simplistic designs fairly equally.

I'm looking to spend under $200 on one (maybe two) watches. I've been doing a lot of looking online and it's a bit overwhelming. So I'm here looking for some suggestions/advice.

It's hard to give recommendations without more concrete criteria. How do you feel about:

Watch movements (i.e. automatic vs. quartz)
    Size
    Bracelet vs. strap
    Dial color

If you like the Orange Monster and are interested in the dive watch style, the Orient Mako and Orient Ray are well-liked around here. They are both dive watches like the Monster, but slightly smaller and dressier in design. They are automatic and Japanese-made, like the Monster. You can generally find them for $120ish at various online watch sellers. Put one on a leather strap and it will be dressy enough for most business occasions.
    Ben

Comment

Also - this may be obvious, but if you think the Orange Monster is inappropriate to wear at work, you might take a look at the more subdued Black Monster. Seiko also has a variety of "Mini Monsters" (actually the same size as the regular Monsters) in a few different color combinations that are slightly less eccentric-looking than the original Monster.
      Ben

Comment

Orient Mako XL can be had in your price range.

Comment