Moving on from the backpack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving on from the backpack

Hey my fellas, long time reader first time poster. I recently finished my PhD and am about to start a teaching position at a big Midwestern state university. As a grad student I've always been pretty aligned with the dappered aesthetic (chinos, buttondowns, sweaters, the occasional sportcoat though more normally a chore coat or something) and I'm planning to keep adapting that as I move on to the faculty part of my life, probably putting a heavier emphasis on the sportcoats. As a concession to practicality, throughout grad school I've usually used a backpack, currently this one, to cart around my laptop, books, and gym gear. I don't really want to be the fresh-faced junior faculty member still wandering around with a brightly-colored backpack, though, so I'm on the hunt for a reasonably priced non-backpack option with a reasonable amount of storage space. I have this old Knomo Raleigh 15", which works aesthetically, but it's nowhere near big enough - if I have my laptop in there, there's really only enough space for one large book and some papers. Any suggestions?

Adding gym gear (particularly with shoes) and large books may put you in the small duffel or flight bag category. Aside from Herschel and Filson, you could look at Frost River or The Transit Duffel from Mission Workshop. Not cheap, but now you have a durable carryon bag for a 1-3 day trip. You may want to add a laptop sleeve. I think you'll have trouble finding a suitable briefcase these days due to the omnipresent internal dividers. There are also Reddit groups that focus on everyday carry bags.

Comment