Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What clothes are dead? (wellness check for your "dappered" clothes)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What clothes are dead? (wellness check for your "dappered" clothes)

There was already a thread for "Is the suit dead?" but:

1. Has the de-facto dress code changed at your workplace since the pandemic?

2. If you work from home now, do you anticipate the de-facto dress code changing if/when you no longer work from home?

My context: I'm a high school teacher, and I used to often wear a tie (which was always a little bit of a stretch), but since our school reopened, I've been scanning the landscape and a tie looks even more out of place. We're operating a skeleton crew of staff and students right now, but when the school fully reopens in the fall, I don't know if I would be further out of place wearing a tie. Right now I'm wearing pants and a jacket or a suit without a tie, or on really hot days no jacket.

You seem to enjoy dressing well, so you ought to keep wearing your ties.

Comment

Here we go.

1. Yes, I think the defacto dress code has changed. Before the pandemic suits and ties were the norm in my shop. When we eventually go back to the office, I think we're going to be office casual. If we're meeting with clients then suits will be required, but no tie. The tie, in our shop, is dead. You can of course wear one if you want, but it is not mandated.

2. Yes. Definitely changed. Over the winter I was in comfy pants and a hoody 100% of the time. If I had an important meeting I ditch the hoody for a collared shirt. Now that summer is here I am writing you in short and a T. Definitely more relaxed.

Comment