How do you dress when doing yard work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you dress when doing yard work?

A bit of a funny post to get things going around the forum, but as the title states, do you believe that it's possible to stay dappered while fixing up your yard or garden?

How do you dress for the occasion?

Easy: hire someone to do it. But seriously, if I have to do anything outside, I just wear old clothes that have been "retired" from general use, so I don't care if they get dirty or otherwise damaged. If you're doing actual labor, then appearance is not a concern. My neighbors certainly don't care what I'm wearing, and I'm certainly not concerned with impressing them.

Comment

I've been doing remodeling work for the last five months as well as yard work. I wear old jeans. I have a pair Levi's 501 and an old pair of Lucky jeans--they are at least 15-20 years old. I have a bunch of old beater polo, Henley, and t-shirts I also wear--I layer them when it's a bit colder, but in So. Cal., that's not much of a problem.

Shoes--And a pair of super comfortable Wolf & Sheppard loafers I got on sale for $125 and immediately started beating the hell out of them (as much as I've dissed W&S at full price--they are a great deal at 50% or more off). Or my Frye suede Chelsea boots I got on sale for about $80 and have now beat the hell out of them.

As you can tell, I don't try to stay dappered--I'm a slob when doing crap work--I get paint, chalk, glue, and other crap on my clothes and shoes when I'm working. I rip them up.

I even get blood on them sometimes. I bleed pretty easily.

WHY ARE THE GUYS IN SUITS HERE? HAS SOMETHING GONE WRONG?

Comment

Old jeans and a t-shirt, maybe an old sweatshirt if it's chilly, and old work shoes from my restaurant server days. Now, I keep those shoes polished (which is why they've lasted this long), but given there's a good chance the clothes are going to get ruined I don't worry about appearances.