Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dressing sharp in an ultra-casual environment

Hi guys,

As I mentioned in my earlier post, i'm relatively new to fashion. One of the reasons it is so, is that I come from a very easy going country. I mean,evenlawyers hardly wear suites here, and in most buiness occasions, an oxford shirt will suffice. Flip flops are an immensly popular streetdress here, as well as printed Tees and undershirts, Crocs shoes and cargo pants. The sharper lookin guys I see usually go with sneakers, dark jeans and some sort of casual shirt. I saw the "looks you liked" thread, which are precisely what I like, but I fear they will look weird, because even a sports jacket is uncommon here. E.G. I just bought a blazer, and the chest pocket isn't a real pocket (The same happened as I tried on a suite-jacket). And even the most luxurious suite stores don't sell pocket squares! So how am I to dress sharp on an everyday basis, without looking funny?

Fit, fit, fit, fit.

Make sure it all fits perfect; that means slim fitting, possible alterations, etc. Take a look at what fits and start by taking one piece and bringing it to the next level. So if everyone is sporting cargo pants, bump up to chinos, but keep the rest what everyone else wears (except the fit, make sure it fits perfectly).

This way you don't look out of place, but still look great. Also, keep in mind this is also about your confidence. If you feel out of place and odd, you're going to be perceived that way.

Comment

The chest pockets are probably functional, they are usually just sewn shut. A seam ripper or small knife (carefully!) should open them up easily.

And you can make a pocket square out of pretty much any fabric. Just search the net for some ideas.