Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Without context (for the moment): do we have any lawyers or law students here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Without context (for the moment): do we have any lawyers or law students here?

The Title line says it all: any attorneys or law students here? If so, either speak up in this thread or send me a private message. I've got some questions for you.

I promise that I'm not looking for legal advice -- on the contrary, I'm in need of some educational/career advice from someone who is personally familiar with the change I'm on the cusp of making. Dovetailing with that, I could also use some related style/shopping/clothing advice.

-- Justin

Law student here - send me an email at [email protected] if you're looking for advice of a non-legal nature.

Comment

I'm a law student.

The answer to your question is: No, don't go to law school.

Ben

Comment

i am also a law student. i'm a 3L at emory.

if you're framing the choice to go to law school as a "change," i'm assuming that you already have some sort of career and are making money.

if you go to law school you will be giving up three years of that income to take out some modicum of debt, while not being guaranteed finding a legal job that pays more after graduating.

most people should not go to law school, but it makes sense for some people. it worked out well for me, but i beat a lot of odds. i would not go to law school simply to go to law school, or because you're in a rut, or because you think it would be fun.

post your e-mail if you want to talk more.

Comment

I'm a law student.

Comment

Basically, I agree with everything Mr. Mr. said.