Men's apartment - furniture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Men's apartment - furniture

Well I graduated this past year and I plan on moving to a new apartment in January. In the meantime I am looking at furniture for my new place. I am looking for all types of furniture, including a new bed.

So I am looking at couches, love seats, kitchen tables, beds, etc. I was hoping that the forum could provide some input, hopefully examples, of what I should get for my new pad.

Well - WHAT you get is hard to recommend. Everyone's got a very different style, and at this stage of life, I think it's perfectly acceptable to have a bit of a mismatched assortment of stuff.

Family can often be a good source for old furniture, especially if they're in your area and you can take it off their hands for them. Let them know you're looking for stuff and would be willing to cart it away and they may be able to give you some things. My brother, who lives in the same town as my family, grandma, aunt and uncle, has more nice furniture than he knows what to do with because he's the only member of our generation still in town and ends up inheriting everyone's castoffs.

Thrift shops are (or can be) great for furniture. Figure out which thrift shop in your area has the best and most consistent selection of furniture, and keep swinging by every other day or so to see what's new. If you can develop a good report with the staff, they might be willing to give you a heads-up on good new stuff. One of the added benefits of thrift furniture is that you can often get good, well-built pieces made of solid wood rather than the throw-away particle board crap you'll find in Target or IKEA. Thrifting is also a good way to get smaller kitchen items like dishes, utensils, pots and pans.

Craigslist is along the same lines as thrifting. It's a good place to get tables, chairs, futons, desks, etc.