Help pick my next shoe!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help pick my next shoe!

Hey all. I'm relatively new to men's fashion and have only 4 "acceptable" shoes thus far (the rest being square-toed slip-ons and running shoes), and I need help picking my next one and prioritizing my future shoe acquisitions.

The 4 shoes I currently have are:

1. Black captoe oxfords (AE Park Avenue)

2. Black penny loafers (Cole Haans from way back in '03)

3. Brown captoe oxfords (Cole Haan Air Adams)

4. Blue canvas sneakers (Converse Chucks)

Here are my candidates for my next shoes (feel free to add your own):

a. Suede chukkas/desert boots

b. Brogue captoes in walnut (think AE Strand)

c. Calf or cordovan longwings in burgundy

d. Boat shoes in navy blue

I'm leaning towards a brown suede chukka (Clarks) as my next one, as I think I can dress it up for smart casual (dark jeans, dress shirt, blazer or v-neck sweater), or dress it down to casual (jeans and a polo). It's less formal than my brown captoes, and more dressed-up than my Converse chucks. Not sure if I should do dark brown suede or taupe suede though.

Would appreciate your advice on what I should get next, and how I should prioritize my future shoe buying given the above options. Thanks.

P.S. Demographic info: I'm a 25 yr-old single man in L.A.

I'd say a brown blucher. They go great with sport coats, and will fill a different hole in your wardrobe than brown oxfords. I personally have the AE Kenilworth Joe has mentioned, and it's really versatile.

Relevant to the discussion:

http://putthison.com/post/2884319898...-in-my-opinion

http://putthison.com/post/2755852442...-i-write-about

Comment

I would say is you more often find yourself in business casual or dressier situations, go for another brown oxford/blucher (with broguing for the ladies). If you more often find yourself in casual/smart casual situations, go desert boots.

Comment