Off the rack slim fit dress shirts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Off the rack slim fit dress shirts

Hey guys. Been working for about six weeks now at a place where I need to wear a suit every day. Doing so I realized I'm woefully low on plan white dress shirts. I used to use BR slim fit shirts, but I've found that they are still a bit loose for my tastes and the price. And I know folks around here like the 1MX shirts from Express, but I've had some bad experiences with them just falling apart or outright losing there shape, so I won't shop there any more.

Anyone recommend a good place to get off the rack slim fit shirts? Or am I just gonna have to suck it up and get what I buy tailored? Thanks fellas.

i don't know how skinny you are, but i've had a lot of success with TM Lewin shirts. i think their john francombe line is slimmer than their slim fit.

i'm a 38r/small, and a slim fit 15.5 is fine on me. it's not super fitted by any means, but it's not sloppy in the least.

Comment

I am a big Charles Thyrwhitt fan. If you are really skinny get the extra slim fit. They do shrink the in the wash, but they fit perfectly. Plain white twill, non-iron in barrell cuff. The quality is impeccable. You have 6 months to return if you don't like, even after you've worn or washed.

Comment

I have both TM Lewin Fully Fitted and Charles Tyrwhitt Tailored (now named Extra Slim or something like that). I go with the 16.5" neck and the 36" sleeve for both. I don't have any plain white or blue poplin, twill, etc shirts from either, so I can't comment on those, but I can give you a fit comparison.

The TM Lewins are slimmer through the chest, waist, and arms. The necks on the CTs seemed to be a bit closer and they're definitely thinner at the wrists (surprising given CTs arms are slimmer). Another thing I preferred about the TMLs was the lack of back darts (the CTs had them yet they were more fully cut...). The quality is comparable.