Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Challenge Issued

Gentleman,

First time poster here and I am in desperate need of some help. I am a second year law student attending a 50th Anniversary Gala at the school in about two weeks. The theme of aforementioned gala is "James Bond meets Don Draper." The plan is to wear my Navy Jcrew Thompson suit. But after that, I am drawing blanks. I have been told I always dress very sharply and dont want to disappoint here, but this theme has me puzzled. Working with about $100-$150 in the budget and I would love to here some thoughts on possible dress shirt, tie, (sweater?) combos. Help me get this done Fellas!

Thanks in advance

i will leave it to the other guys to give you specific recs, i will speak to the james bond meets don draper look. The person who created the theme should have specified which bond; but overall you can accomplish a great simple look. I think the draper is easier to accomplish than a bond aesthetic.

wear a white semi spread button down and a maroon tie (plain, plaid, i dont really like paisley (personal pref), silver tie clip, white cotton pocket square, brown wings or caps, the socks IMO should be a convo starter, something that closely matches the tie IMO...match your metals and leathers...

"The key to Success is the Quality of Execution"
    I>0<I

Comment

Would almost say exactly what @MaxMan suggested except I would say a navy silk tie & brown wingtips. I honestly say keep it simple with the socks as well (Navy). This is a gala which means more reserved. By throwing the pocket square & tie clip, you'll be adding that touch of flair that you need. Just my opinion. As I tell everyone, do what's comfortable for you. You mentioned you're a stylish guy, so you can't go wrong with this clean look.

"One man's style must not be the rule of another's." - Jane Austen
      #StayDapper

Comment