Date Night blazer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Date Night blazer

Hey all. I'm relatively new to men's fashion, and am looking to buy a blazer, primarily to be used for date nights and intended to be worn probably with dark jeans and a dress shirt.

My background: I'm a 25 y/o man who lives in L.A. The only "blazer" I have is part of my Alfani RED dark navy suit (http://www1.macys.com/shop/product/a...-fit?ID=449329). Note that it's a dark navy that looks almost black in low artificial lighting, which makes me hesitant to wear my brown oxford shoes with it. Some people say you shouldn't wear a wool suit jacket with jeans or separate from your suit pants, some say it's okay, as a fashion newbie I'm not sure which is right.

So, I don't know whether I should be looking to buy a cotton navy blazer, or another color (light grey and tan/khaki come to mind). Or should I be looking to buy a wool blazer? I'm considering 2 choices so far:

Navy cotton blazer: http://www.bluefly.com/Howe-navy-stretch-cotton-PJ-10-1-button-blazer/p/320150601/detail.fly

Light grey cotton blazer: http://www.6pm.com/ben-sherman-cotton-twill-sb2-blazer-vintage-rock

Which of the two should I get? If you have a different suggestion, please do let me know. I prefer to not have poly in the jacket shell, so only cotton/wool/linen, no poly blends.

FWIW, I am planning to get a charcoal grey and/or medium grey suit at some point down the road, hence my consideration of a light grey blazer and not a dark/medium grey one. But, moot point if I shouldn't be wearing a suit jacket with jeans.

Thanks!

The link to the navy blazer's not working for me, but, provided it's at all decent, I think you'd be way better off w/ navy than w/ light grey. More versatile and also the darker color is more appropriate for a night out.

Comment

Navy cotton blazer should be in every mans closet. So I say make this your next purchase, then look into adding some patterns.