No announcement yet.

As the name says I am new to this whole thing any and all advice appreciated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

As the name says I am new to this whole thing any and all advice appreciated

Ok so I am leaving teaching and headed into consultative sales and it's time to step my game up. I am 27 and if all pans out I can start to afford to dress like an actual grown up for the first time in my life. Basically I need to start from scratch and have spent some time reading up on some of these fine articles about how to get a suit or two that I can afford. Basically I am looking for a guide to where to start, let's pretend my house just burned down and I've got no clothes and about $1,000 to start. I need to know what's acceptable besides just a suit in a buisness setting (medical service sales in Doctor's offices) What to get as far as a basic arsenal to build on over time casual-wise? Basically any and all help would be appreciated here as a lot of you seem to have a good idea what's going on. I should ad that I am only 5'6" and about 185 athletic build, 32-33W 30L so if theres any short stocky dudes that could suggest where to shop, because most of the Express/Gap/Mall stores seem to be for the tall, thinner guys. I realize this is a lot of questions, but everybody's got to start somewhere. Here's hoping for some help.

Thanks in Advance,

The New Guy

Do you know your jacket size? I don't mean to shill, but I just picked up a Burberry suit that I'm looking to either flip or return to the store because it doesn't fit me. The US size equivalent is about 46 S, but it seems like it's a little slimmer than that. You sound like you may be in that ballpark.