How do you think a pastor should dress?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you think a pastor should dress?

I'm a pastor and try to dress pretty decent, but recently I've started to wonder how people think pastors/preachers should dress. Obviously I've got my own opinions on this, but I'm curious what others think.

So, regardless of whether or not you personally believe in God (I'm not trying to start a debate), how do you think a pastor should dress and why?

Conservatively, but not so deliberately that it would make the pastor stand out in a group.

In your case, just strive to dress nicely since you're paying attention to style. So, kind of like we all dress here at Dappered.

Or dress like James Bond. I'd join that church in a flash of holy lightning.

Comment

I expect pastors (at least for traditional services) to be dressed in suits. I expect pastors of contemporary/casual services to be dressed more casually, but still neat.

What I WOULDN'T want to see on a pastor is anything particularly expensive. I would wonder where my tithes are going if my pastor is wearing a $1000+ watch. But you can dress well while not spending a fortune so I don't see the problem there. And I wouldn't fault a pastor for having a nice suit since it's pretty much his uniform on Sunday mornings.

Comment

I would love to dress like James Bond! I'm looking for a good reason to wear my black Indochino suit that I wore for my wedding, haha.

Comment

Just work it into the sermon... "In Our Father's Secret Service"

Comment

Good idea! @alan, when you say casual, do you mean something like bull denim, sweater, with a button down and a tie underneath? Or something more office appropriate?

Comment

Depends on the congregation. For instance, if you're the pastor of a conservative Southern Baptist church made up mostly of 50+ year olds, a suit is a must. If your congregation is mostly under 30, button-up and jeans (and for some, even t-shirt and jeans) would work.