Disillusioned

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disillusioned

After lurking and reading this site and forum for a long time I decided to put on my big boy pants and go search for my first blazer. Since I had done my research and read through countless posts I expected some tailoring to be involved to get the perfect fit. Now since I am a complete amateur to dressing a bit more presentable than just jeans and t shirts I went to the only place I could think that has plenty of blazers, my local big chain stores in the mall. I found out I am a 44R but a salesman that was helping me determine my size told me that he was not sure if the jacket could be tailored enough in the midsection without compromising the actual build of the jacket. He pretty much said there is too big of a difference between my shoulder width and my midsection. I went to two more major retailers on my way home and got similar opinions. Does this mean that I will be stuck with a jacket that fits like a circus tent below the shoulders? I tried on several jackets from traditional to slim fits. I don't know if it's relevant but I were a waist size 32 pant.

Naw, you'll be able to find something for sure. I understand the frustration though, I've been searching for my first blazer for several months as well. It's possible that they didn't give you the right size, so try on a 42. Also, pictures of some jackets you try would help the rest of us I'm sure.

Comment

Keep at it! I would find whatever fits best off the rack then take that to the tailor. From what you're saying, you'll need something really slim.

Comment

You'll get it. I dunno where you were shopping but many places don't know what they're doing when determining size (and also there's variation depending upon the fit of the jacket, even within brands). I'd just try looking for something with a trimmer fit and a bigger drop, and also make sure to try both 44 and 42 wherever possible.

Comment