bamboo (!) blazer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bamboo (!) blazer

Yesterday I thrifted a light brown herringbone Z Zegna blazer that looks like it has seen little wear. Looks and fits great (shouldn't need any tailoring), so I'm quite happy with the find.

What's interesting about the blazer, however, is that the exterior is 100% bamboo fiber. I have zero experience with bamboo textiles and google turns up some useful basic info but next to nothing about specifically bamboo blazers. Even a search for "bamboo" on Zegna's website gets no results.

So... anybody know anything about bamboo textiles? bamboo blazers? How will the fabric affect when and how I wear the blazer, etc.?

My initial guess is that the bamboo makes the blazer lean a bit formal, because the fabric is quite soft, with a subtle sheen to it. (One google result compared bamboo fabric to silk, but this blazer is not nearly so shiny). I'll try to post some pics of the blazer if I have time this weekend.

From a brief wikipedia, it seems that bamboo is one of the types of material that can be used to make Rayon. A quick search for Rayon blazers and... Voila!

http://www.neimanmarcus.com/p/Ermenegildo-Zegna-Rayon-Blazer-Apparel/prod140330078/

Is it similar to this maybe?

Comment

Well, the lining of my blazer is rayon, but the tag identifies the exterior fabric as 100% bamboo fiber. I remember because even in the store the materials made me do a double take. I'll snap a pic of the tag, too, when I'm at home.

My blazer also differs in that it doesn't have patch pockets (it has flapless ones) and no ticket pocket. Can't remember how mine is vented, but basically, it seems a totally different blazer.

Comment

Oh well, just a thought. Maybe it is Bamboo linen? Is it really light? I must admit I am intrigued and can't wait to see your pics.

Comment