Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Saddleback Thin Briefcase Medium v. Large

Seeking some input on SBL sizing.

I ordered the Thin Large recently. It seemed gargantuan to and on me (I'm not small or huge— 5'10", 165 lbs); spouse concurred, saying I looked like an unfashionable straight guy with no sense of proportion. So I sent it back. I ordered a medium. Again, lovely, but now I wonder if it's large enough.

I'm a college professor (on the younger side, so I feel obliged to have style, unlike some of my colleagues), so I often (not always) have the Macbook, plus a couple of books, and some combo of pads, papers, and notebooks pretty much anytime I walk out the door.

A 16" size of Thin would be perfect, but alas, such does not exist.

Anybody have any thoughts on the size of the medium?

I'm a professor, too, and I have the Large Classic briefcase. It's big, but I am as well (6'3" 230lbs), and it looks good with my frame. I lug around lots of books, notes and a laptop everywhere I go, so I am very glad to have the extra width. It does get a bit heavy but I haven't minded much.

I wonder if the relative thickness (the width) of the large classic briefcase makes its large length and height feel more proportionate than the large thin case. I feel like I might not be making much sense, but perhaps you can get my drift. In any event, I think the aesthetic perfectly fits a professorial context. For young folks like us, it's kind of nice to have some stuff that makes us look like we belong in the role. That sucker adds as much gravitas as a pipe.

Comment

I do have a pipe, but I tend not to smoke it on campus.

I use public transport to get to and from school, so I will carry the case quite a bit. It's mostly about whether I'm going to have enough room. Spouse points out that I will still have the TNF backpack for those days when there's tons of stuff.

Gar. I hate being indecisive.

Comment

Why, BTW, did you go with the Classic instead of the Thin?