Size Debate: Collar Extender or Not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Size Debate: Collar Extender or Not?

Unlike most of you perfectly sized gentlemen out there, I have "odd" dimensions. While I easily fit into medium size shirts from most stores through the chest and arms, they almost never fit around my neck area. This causes me all sorts of consternation. Lately I have been considering collar extenders when I want to button that top button and wear a tie but I have no experience with them. Worth it? Or am I doomed to have all of my clothes radically tailored? Should I bypass "mediums" and go for only tailored to fit shirts?

I'm lost. Please help.

What are your measurements?

Dress for style, live for results.

Comment

16 neck, 37ish chest, 32/33 arm...I could use an explanation of the two number arm measurement two. Admittedly, I'm new to dressing well. I just graduated college and didn't have a reason in my life to wear a dress shirt.

Comment

I'm in the same boat. Sometimes I just tighten the tie without doing the top button, but it's still not perfect and the collar may misalign. 16 neck with 36.5 chest at 145 lbs. Yeah.

Comment

bels14, your measurements in the chest and arms would put you into the range of a small-sized shirt. Are you sure that you have such a proportionally thick neck?

Comment

I'm not quite sure what you mean bruschetta. I am positive of my neck measurement. I was recently measured at a macy's in the men's department and I have an old shirt with a 15.5 neck that I can't button. Sizing down to a small would only make the problem of buttoning the top button worse.

Comment

I am in nearly the same boat: 16.75-inch neck, 38/39-inch chest, average waist size, and 32-inch arm length.