AE Delray

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AE Delray

I am looking for a fairly versatile brown shoe (chinos, jeans, wool trousers). I am specifically looking at the Delray from AE in brown. Is this too formal to pair with jeans and chinos or can it be done? I'm sorry if I'm beating a dead horse here, I'm just getting started and trying to replace some chunky rubber soled beauties and want to get something that isn't just reserved for suits.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&c...Y&mvs=0#miuv=0

Countryside Man of Letters

It can be done because the blucher design makes it a less formal shoe vs the balamoral design of the park avenue. I've seen several people wear their chili Delrays with chinos and it looks fantastic.

Comment

Are they too much for a pair of dark jeans? I wear jeans quite a bit and want to get some miles out of them. Thanks for the quick reply.

Comment

@MarkB: Hmm...that's an interesting debate. The blucher design lends itself to casualness but the split-toe design is a little more formal. While I see people with split-toes and chinos I don't think I've ever seen split-toes and dark jeans. I decided to see how this looks myself with my own split toes:

Doesn't look quite right in my view, but it would be interesting to hear what others have to say about split toes and jeans.

Comment

Despite acousticfoodie's massive hog, I don't think it looks quite right either....

Would be fine with chinos but just doesn't match up with denim.

Dress for style, live for results.

Comment

I've got the dark brown Delrays and I personally probably wouldn't wear them with dark denim. Although their on the casual side because they are bluchers, they have a more sleek shape that gives them a formal look, and the dark brown is just that. I like to wear mine with chinos or slacks.