Basics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basics

I've recently been reading a lot of guys posting about the versatility of navy basics - blazers, pants, sweaters. Can't believe I didn't think of before. But it did get me thinking - I was wondering what some of your favorite basics were, whether it be a certain color, specific shirt, etc.

Also, what are some basics that are good to have in a wardrobe? I know Joe posted the $1500 wardrobe but I was wondering what some of yours were.

Comment

Jeans: Any straight leg fitted dark Resin rinse will do

Chinos: Grey, White, Navy, Olive, tan

Trousers: charcoal, navy, chocolate brown

Shirts: light blue, french blue, navy blue, white

Blazers: Navy, brown herringbone, Grey, Khaki

Suit: Navy

Shoes: Black and brown balamorals

Those I think would be pretty good basics to have. You can branch off into patterned shirts and etc after that imo.

Comment

I'm a student, so most of my basics are casual. No real need for suits and the like.

Dark indigo jeans, khaki chinos, blue and white OCBD, navy and gray pocket tees, white canvas sneakers, casual brown leather shoes, medium brown leather hoof-pick belt.

And a watch. Gotta have a watch.

Comment

Jeans - medium to dark rinse (I prefer Levi 514 fit, but have been meaning to try 513).

Chinos - british khaki, navy, olive.

Wool trousers - light, medium, charcoal grey, tobacco and chocolate brown, light green, light blue, olive.

Shirts - solid white, solid blue, blue gingham, black&white gingham, white w/blue windowpane, pinstripe. No button-downs, a few french cuff w/ silk knots only.

Suit - seersucker navy, seersucker light blue, gray linen, glen plaid gray, olive wool, navy wool, navy pinstripe wool.

Shoes: Magnanni Federico (wearing currently), AE Strands, Crockett & Jones Edgworth, boat shoes by Mark McNairy, etc.

Blazers: Harris tweed, light blue linen, herringbone, medium-blue seersucker, houndstooth. Looking for something in a rich brown...