Starting Fresh

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting Fresh

Ok, so this is my first post, I have been lurking for a few days now. I am looking to start my wardrobe over again. I am a teacher and many of the clothes I purchased starting out were cheap buys and there was no 'system' or method to the buying madness. I have recently gone through my closet and cleaned up. I have started from the bottom up to a certain extent, I recently bought two pair of Chukka boots, one lighter from Kenneth Cole and one darker from Cole Hann plus a few Chino pants from the J-Crew and Banana Republic outlets nearby. I have about 20 shirts still, but would be willing to remove a few more to make room for some more classic styles. With that said what do you consider to be classic dress shirts and what are some good brands with a good fit.

Remember I am a teacher, so probably looking at below $50 for the shirts.

Thanks for the help

The most basic and versatile may be blue and white button down oxfords. With fall approaching, you'll be able to layer those underneath sweaters and other garments you may own. I'm happy with those I bought from Frank & Oak. They cost $35 each with a promo code toward the end of one of their monthly collections, and they seem reasonably well made and are cut trim. And speaking of layers, I like v-neck sweaters, button cardigans, and half-zip sweaters in neutral colors, which are more versatile. Think grey or camel.

I like chukka boots too and wear mine often, but eventually you might want to look at adding a brown cap-toe oxford shoe. For more casual shirts in your price range, J. Crew has many options when running a sale. Good place to pick up some plaid or gingham shirts. There's also a trim-fit gingham option mentioned in the Nordstrom sale picks here on the site. You may want to check that out also.