Convince me for/against the Nordstrom Strands

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Convince me for/against the Nordstrom Strands

Hi guys, long time lurker, first time poster. I've got a little problem that I'm having a hell of a time trying to figure out, and I'd appreciate your input.

I really, really, really love Allen Edmonds Strands, most particularly in Walnut. I've eyed them, and other shoes of similar style for years, even before I started paying attention to my clothing and mens style. Now I've got some cash in my pocket from a summer job, and the Nordstrom's sale has those very shoes within a price range that I would consider reasonable.

The thing is, I'm a college student in a pretty casual environment. Normally I wear jeans (only the darkest denim) or gray/khaki casual chinos with a polo or casual button down (sport shirt?), and sometimes t-shirts. Generally speaking I'm a little more dressed up than most of my peers, but not by miles. Given this, would it be ridiculous for me to buy a pair of walnut strands to wear 1-2 days a week, primarily with what I've described? Are full brogue oxfords just too far out there for a college student? I'm currently planning on going to medical school when I graduate, so business use after college could be hit-or-miss and I'm not sure how much I should take that into account when considering the purchase.

As an aside, I occasionally have to give presentations for one class or another and for debate, and I like to wear a suit for the occasion. I need a new one however, and am planning on buying a navy suit from indochino or BR sometime in the next several months. I know that walnut shoes/belt with navy is somewhat out there, but is the combination acceptable if the frequency of wear is low?