Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What would you have done? (OR, I think I snagged a great deal.)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What would you have done? (OR, I think I snagged a great deal.)

So I made the mistake of walking to the back of Banana Republic where the clearance rack is located. Because I've got some experience in clearance rack perusing, I took a peak at all of the jackets in the L-XL section, even though I'm a svelte 145 lbs and 5-7.

There was a black wool suit jacket for $118. Turns out it was a 36-short. "Maybe I'll just try this on."

Well, it was the "Modern" fit two-button jacket, and it was being liquidated for $118. BUT (there's always a but), when I tried to button it, I noticed the top button was gone. Of course - there's a catch. I asked a sales person, and they checked on it. Because it was "defective," I would get an extra 10% off, but it would be final sale. The coat fit darn well, and the only real hesitation was that the sleeves were slightly low-cut under the armpit, although still more trim than my other coats. I inspected it pretty well just in case and it looked great. And the button? The spare was in the chest pocket and my cleaners will fix that button for me gratis.

THEN of course, because I'm an idiot, I checked out the matching suit pants. They only had the tailored fit, not modern, but the material is the same so I snagged those. I picked them up at retail so I'd have the set, although I plan to look online and see if those are eligible for any coupons...

What would you have done?

Here's the jacket: http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse...d=1&pid=619682

Comment

Glad it fits you. Black is not as versatile a color as one might think, though. So if it fits into your wardrobe well, more power to ya!

Comment