Tuxedo Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tuxedo Recommendations

I'll be purchasing a tux soon and would like some brand suggestions. I thought I'd made it through life long enough and got away with never having to own one however we're finding more and more now that we're being invited to black tie events. On the rare occasion that's happened in the past, I've been able to get around it by dressing up a formal suit, but I'm not able to get away with that so much anymore.

I figure I'll spend a few grand and want to make sure I'm doing it well. It'll be my only tux so will have to be versatile - not trendy - but I'd like it to say, "this guy knows how to dress himself". I have very little tux experience so don't quite know where to start. My favorite suit is a Canali, so do I just go that route again? Are they all gonna be about the same so it's just a matter of getting the nicer fabric? What questions need to be answered first?

All of you with experience here, please set me in the right direction?

Thanks!

How formal? One button or two? Notch, Shawl, or Peak? Blue or black?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

How rare are you expecting these occasions to be? And keep in mind that if you're looking to go all in on looking like you know what you're doing, it's not just the tux but the accessories. Shirt, bow tie, vest or cummerbund, suspenders perhaps, studs and cuff links, maybe even special shoes?

Your most traditional look is going to be single button, peak or shawl collar (not notch lapel), slash pockets, lapel faced with either satin or grossgrain, if you want a less "rental" look. Fabric covered button. Black or midnight blue.

Comment

Maybe not to your level but I’m beyond happy with my SuSu tuxedo package. Everything out the door for 799 I believe it was. Simple, classic and not a budget breaker

Comment

Originally posted by hockeysc23 View Post