Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wool-Linen Blend Suit

Gentlemen,

I am trying to get some opinions regarding wool-linen blend suits. I am considering purchasing this Hilfiger suit from Overstock.com : http://www.overstock.com/Clothing-Shoes/Tommy-Hilfiger-Mens-Taupe-Stripe-Linen-Blend-Suit/6364586/product.html

I am an attorney working in a situation where I wear suits 4-5 days a week. I also live where it reaches 100+ degrees Fahrenheit, but at least it is generally dry (California, trying to avoid seersucker). What are your thoughts on this suit? My main concern with linen is that it may look unprofessional. I'm sure that a full linen suit would be inappropriate, especially for the courtroom, but what about this wool-linen blend? I have heard that the blends do a better job of keeping their shape and avoiding, as best they can, getting too wrinkly throughout the course of the day. Currently, my wardrobe is restricted to only wool suits, some lighter than others, but even the light ones are pretty warm on a hot day.

Also, any idea whether these overstock hilfiger suits actually compare to the hilfiger suits you run into in macy's? I have a few hilfiger suits that I really like. If this has the same sort of fit, it could certainly be a winner.

Thanks for the input.

Like Joe's post today says, the wool component helps the fabric stay in shape. Still, it would be a good habit to not wear the jacket while you drive or are seated for a long period of time, if you can avoid it. This kind of fabric is a good bridge for being cooler without looking casual. Just have to watch for the polyester linings which can trap heat. This one looks partly lined, which is good.

I don't know anything about Hilfiger suits...so I can't help you there.

Comment

I ended up pulling the trigger, so I will report back.

Comment

Those shoulders are a no go for me based on the pics. I'm looking forward to your report.

Comment