Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Casual Chinos

Hello all,

I'm a second year college student who wants to upgrade his wardrobe after spending a year walking around in either athletic shorts or sweatpants.

What should I look for in a pair of casual chinos? I bought a nice pair of jeans and wanted something else to rotate with it.The chinos that I own seem too dressy and awkward when I wear them with a t-shirt or untucked polo and sneakers. I'll mainly be wearing them to class or when hanging out with friends.

If it matters, I lift heavy and have pretty big legs, so it's usually hard to find slim fitting pants that are comfortable.

hey Jake... I'm also a bottom heavy dude, i'm 6 foot 200 lbs, and i have thunderthighs....i've found that the Merona Washed Chinos from target (25 bucks) fit perfectly, aren't too snug and come in 5 colors, pretty casual to boot...i have 3 pairs, and they are my go to they got a navy, light blue, khaki, i think stone and red

Comment

If you go with Land's End, regular or Canvas, and avoid the slim fits, you can find good deals and good quality.

Comment

You probably want a straight or slim straight fit.

Like Rodney said, I would highly recommend LE or LEC. I have a pair of LEC chinos. A lot of people complain about the pocket flare, but they're still a pretty good pair of pants. Also consider Dockers. I just got a pair of Alpha Khakis. They might be too slim for you, but they're pretty nice. I did order another pair of soft D1 khaki's, but at least the pair I got are a terrible fit (Super tight seat, very loose legs)

Comment

+1 on the Meronas and Land's End

Comment

Thank you all for the help! I'll keep an eye out for good deals on the suggestions

Comment

I like the Docker's, too, but have only bought the D1 and they are thigh huggers. A straight fit might be good for the right price. Love the Ghurka color Dappered turned me on to.

Comment