My first blazer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My first blazer

So I'm an engineering student who's going to be graduating within the next two years. As part of my program I have various internships where I work with various company for four months at a time. I've found that when I have to attend semi-formal work events my standard outfit of dress pants, dress shirt and tie has been lacking when I'm mingling with the higher-ups.

I believe I need a good, versatile blazer that I can wear with a variety of pants and shirts until I graduate and can expand my collection. I'd also like it to be wearable with jeans if I choose to dress up for a causal event. Anyone have any suggestions for a cheap option that fits my need? Thanks in advance. You'd be really helping me out!

I think your first stop would be your nearest thrift store. I'd look for something in navy blue that fits well and preferably 100% wool. One word of advice, if its your first and likely to be your only for awhile... be picky.

Comment

My favorite blazer that I've ever owned I scored for $40 at a banana republic outlet. Outlets are always risky, but BR has a decent off the rack fit (didn't require a ton of tailoring) and sales all the time. Go for a versatile color like navy and make sure it is 100% real fibers (cotton, wool, a blend of the two), not synthetics and you should be golden.

"You don't need money to dress better than you do" - Salvatore Romano

Comment

To go along with Frank, THRIFT IT BABY!!! LOL. But you should probably consider a Navy Blazer. It is going to give you the most versatility. I own about three navy's, 1 unlined and cotton, the other is what the true definition of a Blazer is (the navy blazer with brass buttons)thrifted and a navy blue worsted suit. Happy hunting.

Note: always your best fitted shirt with you, when you go to try on sports coats.

"The key to Success is the Quality of Execution"
        I>0<I

Comment