Bellydancing Gear? - Need Masculine & Stylish Clothing/Accessories

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bellydancing Gear? - Need Masculine & Stylish Clothing/Accessories

This is probably a long shot, but I have a bellydancing performance coming up. And I'm looking for any advice finding masculine and stylish clothing/accessories such as shirt or vest, pants, necklace, cuffs/bracelets, arm bands, scarves, etc. Any suggestions or ideas?

A decent vest is pretty much all you need. The rest of the items are identical.

I know a belly dance instructor I could ask if they know of any preferred suppliers.

Comment

Sorry, but I have zero knowledge about belly dancing. Is there a standard outfit that one wears when performing? And if so, are there stores that specialize in outfits and gear for this artistic venue?

If there is no such thing, I guess the next best approach would be to do a Google search or get on Pinterest and figure out what type of items that you're looking for: shirt styles, types of pants, approrpiate shoes, vests and other accessories. Find the look that you want and then go hit the mall. You may end up shopping in the young person stores (Forever 21, H&M, etc.) to find what you're looking for.

If you don't mind talking about it, I'd love to hear how you got involved in bellydancing and what it involves. Always interested to hear what other people do in their free time...

Comment

Did a quick Google image search for male belly dancer; the results were ... less than promising if you're looking for inspiration.

I don't know if this will help, but when I was looking for a chapan I came across this site:

Zarina's

They're a U.S. based company that specializes in traditional and ethnic clothing from Central Asia and the Middle East. Here's an example of the kinds of vests and pants that may work: